Instagram is one of the widely used platforms to share photos, videos and follow your favourite celebrities to get insight as to what is happening in their lives! You can share stories, tag people in your posts and even put filters on your posts! It is a repository where you store your memories. It is fun and exciting to share the updates of your life with your followers!
At times, it might make you anxious and tiring to share picture perfect moments! Trade-offs with internet privacy by sharing all photos and videos might be bothering you as well. You might have your own respectable reasons not to post anything or seeing posts of others! If that is the case with you and you want to get rid of your account, then this post is for you.
You can temporary disable or permanently delete your Instagram account. You should consider temporary disabling only if you want a break. If you are thinking or deactivating it permanently, then you should know that it can’t be reactivated. It is as good as deleting the records with no means of recovery. Here are the steps to help you in deleting your Instagram account?
- Log in to the Instagram web using your existing username and password. It is required to login to the website as the app on your phone doesn’t allow deleting the account. Your account is always logged in through phone app and this is to ensure that anyone who has access to your phone should not be able to delete your account mischievously.
- Click on the icon on the top right which will open your profile. Click on Edit profile next to your username and you would see an option on the bottom right for temporary disabling your account. This option is only if you want to give yourself a break for a few days. For permanent deletion, you need to click on this hyperlink. There is no option to navigate to delete your account permanently from your profile. In case you skipped step 1 and clicked on this hyperlink directly then it will ask for username and password.
- On this page, Instagram focuses on the safety norms that they have in place which prevent your personal data to be leaked. Before you go ahead, it also asks you to temporarily disable your account as there is no coming back once you delete it permanently. It asks you for reason from the dropdown which includes reasons as – Want to remove something; concerned about my data; too many sponsored ads; created another account; too distracting; privacy concerns; trouble getting started or something else! Whichever option you select, it gives you tips and tricks to tackle those to assist you with issues to enhance your experience. If your reason is listed here and the tips which they suggest are what you’re looking for then you can reconsider your decision.
- Once you have selected your reason, re-enter your password for authentication and click on Permanently delete my account (highlighted in bold white in red colored box) towards the bottom left of the page.
- It asks for confirmation through a pop-up and after you confirm it deletes your account which means your photos, videos and posts get deleted forever.